Ah, a bit of quiet time!

7 May

I know, I’ve been remiss, I haven’t posted anything for over a week. That doesn’t mean I’ve been lounging about drinking tea and visiting with friends and family. Far from it! I, my friends, have been working like a dog! A dog, I say!

Little did I know what was under all the wild greenery.

I have personally been responsible for taking a veritable jungle and turning it into a recognizable yard, with five flower beds. Richard looked after the lawn mowing (which needed to be done, 3 times!)and rototilling of the vegetable gardens(twice). Sounds easy doesn’t it? Trust me it wasn’t, but we managed to get it all done in 1 week.

The big veggie garden. Can you see the smaller one behind?

We arrived on Vancouver Island on April 24th, Easter Sunday. Our kids had just moved into this new place on the 22nd and were leaving for Calgary, for a cousins wedding, on April 27th. They’d had no time to do anything except move, unpack the important stuff and get ready to leave again. The property was 1/3 of an acre and had not been looked after since last summer, and since we were going to stay to look after the dog, the hamster and the chickens, the kids asked if we could weed the garden for them as well. Sure, we said!

God, we have got to stop volunteering! Me especially, since I’m slightly OCD, I can’t stop until everything is perfect. Man,  it took a lot of work to get it perfect, but it sure looks pretty now doesn’t it? I should have taken a before photo, but I just never thought of it.

Isn't this a pretty garden?

I can’t remember the last time I did so much weeding, brickwork, edging, raking and sweeping. If only my arms were working right!

Now, we’re sanding and painting bookcases, side tables and a big dresser and reupholstering chairs. The house inside is lovely, natural wood with white accents. Most of the kids furniture is hand-me-downs, so it needs a bit of an upgrade. Nothing like living with a 70’s motif in a New Millennium style home.

Painting in progress.

The reason for all this frenzied work? We’re hitting the road again on Tuesday or Wednesday and Liz’s husband goes back to work on Monday, so unless we get all this stuff done, she’ll be trying to do it while juggling her 2 kids, the dog, the chickens, her very successful food blog and her new photography business, oh, and the hamster. So we’ll slave for a while to give them a hand getting done, the things they need to get done!

By the way did I mention the new fence Richard put up for them?

New fence and gate. Chicken coop in background.

That’s all for now folks, got to go put on another coat of paint. If I get finished today, I’ll get to take Mother’s Day off!

Oh, and just so you know, the weather still SUCKS!

6 Responses to “Ah, a bit of quiet time!”

  1. Klaus Kommoss May 7, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

    I couldn’t help chuckling!
    Here they come home – having done nothing for half a year – and try something different, like work, and immediately complain.
    But that’s ok, it belongs to the game.
    Let’s hope the rain lets up soon.
    Klaus

    • Alexis Thuillier May 8, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

      I don’t quite think we were aware of just how much work this was going to take. But we sure felt good when we realized how good it looked when we finished. We would have been done sooner if we hadn’t had to stop all the time while the skies opened up. Sure is fun gardening in the mud!

  2. Parvin May 8, 2011 at 2:41 am #

    Oh God, dear Alexis!
    I am impressed, how much work you and Richard have done for your daughter. You must love her! My appreciation too.
    But I like your humor, how many blisters do you count on your hands? I better don’t ask how your strong back is doing?
    Did you actually take Mothersday off?

    Parvin

    • Alexis Thuillier May 8, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

      No blisters Parvin, I learned a long time ago to buy the right gloves for the job. My shopping tastes run a little contrary to most people and Richard and I found this great Hardware store that had over 100 types of gloves. Found the perfect fit for the job at hand! Trust me Liz and her husband Adrian were very appreciative and I am taking the whole of Mother’s Day off. Nobody will let me do anything anyways so I might as well sit back and enjoy it!
      Waiter! Another Coffee Please!

  3. Parvin May 8, 2011 at 2:43 am #

    I want to subscribe

    • Alexis Thuillier May 8, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

      On the righthand side of the blog page under META is a link titled ENTRIES RSS. You can subscribe using that link.

Leave a Reply

